The Miller Lash Estate is nestled in the picturesque valley of the village of Highland Creek. As legend has it, in 1913 Miller Lash, a wealthy Toronto businessman was out for a Sunday drive in his chauffeur driven Stanley Steamer. The car bounced along what is now known as Old Kingston Road, and descended the west hill into the valley of Highland Creek. Lash was so impressed by the land with its grassy fields, forest and rushing stream, that he promptly bought the property. He commissioned a firm of architects from Upper New York State, likely that of Edward B. Greene, to design his estate. The design is very much in keeping with the craftsman principals of the Arts and Crafts Movement.… Simplicity, durability, fitness for the life that is to be lived in the house and harmony with its natural surroundings.
The materials used in building the house were simple, but quite extraordinary at the time. The walls are constructed of poured concrete, then faced with river stone collected from the Highland Creek bed which meanders by the house. All of the heavy beams and truss work that support the cathedral ceilings and porch roofs are squared pine timbers – no doubt milled on the property. Natural clay products were used for roof tiling and floor areas both inside and out. The house was built with wooden framed casement windows and French doors that opened out from three sides of many rooms directly onto the patios and lawn. There are also three large skylights in the long hallway. This essentially integrated the interior of the house with the exterior, providing harmony with nature. It also provided cooling breezes in the summer (more).